I thought I can; I couldn’t

In my previous post I mentioned that I fell sick. It was really unfortunately really. I fell sick on the 4th day of my trip in KL; the very same day I had to meet my uni friend for dinner. It was a disaster. I’ll talk more about it in my future posts on my trip in KL. So yeah I fell sick from 30/4 till today. I came back from my trip on 2/5 but I took leave from the office till 3/5.

I went to the doctor yesterday + taken a sick leave (4/5) cause I couldn’t endure my temples throbbing and nose running anymore. I felt so uncomfortable. My head was hurting from fever and my nose. There’s phlegm dripping behind my throat and at my nostrils. I wanted to tear my throat out because it felt like a thousand needles poking each time I tried to swallow. And to make things worst, the weather in KK was blistering hot and the air was humid.

This morning when I woke, I felt more a little bit more stable. At least I THOUGHT I was. I woke up the moment my alarm rang and pressed on the snooze button twice before finally giving in. Brushed my teeth and washed my face, changed into my clothes, and then head down for breakfast – cereal (Koko Krunch ftw!) and milk. Swallowed my medicine and I felt good to go. I left home with 5 minutes to spare and off to work.

2 hours in, my body began to ache and my head was warm to the touch. It felt like my head was being squeezed and pounded. My nose couldn’t stop running. Thank God I brought extra tissue paper today. Toilet paper would be too harsh. I thought maybe I was just tired from waking up early since I took so many days off work. I couldn’t distinguish whether it was my desire to go home or it was my gut feeling telling me I still need rest.

The admin noticed me struggling to keep my eyes focused so she said I could go home during lunch and take the rest of the day off.

I didn’t want to seem like I was taking advantage of her advice. I didn’t want them to think,”Just because today’s a Friday, it doesn’t mean that she can take ANOTHER day off this week“. But I also thought in my favour that it’s already Friday. Would it matter even if I take an extra day off?

I’m home now. Took my meds and it’s time for me to nap.

Published by

jemehh

I write about things I feel and think. But sometimes these two gets into a fight. Hence, the name Contradictory Dialogues.

One thought on “I thought I can; I couldn’t”

Leave a Reply

