It’s something

I’m in the office now, sitting at my desk, scrolling through hundreds of blog posts in Discover. Don’t be mistaken, I’m not not doing work. It’s just that I have none.

I’ve completed the tasks that I was given and so far nothing else has been assigned to me today. I probably should ask if they have anything for me to help with. But I’m content with the idea of being paid for sitting and doing something¬†(staring at my computer screen is still doing something). Okay, so that’s a little crude but it is how it is. But I’m also struggling to look like I’m busy with something.

I have a few sheets of drawings in front of me just in case someone walks over and sees my screen with wordpress on. All morning I’ve been pretending to be busy with these drawings. Well, I DID do some researching and writing; both work-related. But that took like 2 hours max.

Why can’t working hours be more flexible? It’s the 21st century now. Do we really need 40 hours per month? What if, like me, there’s nothing to do in the office? Is it more productive that way to trap a person without a task to exercise their brains? Okay maybe 8 hours a day is fine. But can’t employers give some break time or simply just time for employees to do their own thing when nothing is urgent or when task given is completed?

There’s 2 hours more till the end of work. I guess I’ll kill some more time looking through y’alls blog posts.

Published by

jemehh

I write about things I feel and think. But sometimes these two gets into a fight. Hence, the name Contradictory Dialogues.

Leave a Reply

