Not what they seem

I just found out that those people that sells beauty product does not really know much about skin. Some do but mostly doesn’t. They’re only trained to sell products they represent. They’re only trained to give advice on what products to sell upon hearing certain keywords customer says. Huge pores, oily, dry, flaking skin, dark spots, redness. 

My toner was running out so I went to the counter of the certain brand I’m using. She was commenting about the oil on my face and where the pimples are and scars were.

Seller: Do you use any hair products? Perhaps hair oil? Because what I’m seeing is that the pimples and scars are mostly on the side of your face and at your jawline.

Me: Yes I do use hair oil. But when I do I’ll tie my hair up so it doesn’t touch my face.

Seller: Hmm… But I still don’t understand why does your pimples gather at your jawline. Are you a night burner?

Me: No I have a regular sleeping routine. The jawline area is usually associated to hormones.

Seller: *continues to figure out why*

Me: It’s probably because of hormones.

Seller: *hmm.. Why… Hmm… But she doesn’t sleep late or let her hair touch her face.. Hmm…*

Me: My hormones are imbalance.

Seller: You sure it’s not your hair? *ponder ponder*

Me: No.


Then she asked about the condition of my skin on my point of view.

Me: A lot of people has been telling me my skin type is oily but most of the time i feel that it’s dry which makes my skin oily.

Seller: What do you mean?

Me: Like when your skin is dry, it will produce more oil to substitute the dryness making your skin more oily than usual.

Seller: *stares blankly at me*

Me: *do even know anything about skin* Forget it.

If y’all want advice, please consult a dermatologist, pharmacist or even a beautician. Not over the counter seller. They’re just there to say the right things and make you buy their product.

Published by

jemehh

I write about things I feel and think. But sometimes these two gets into a fight. Hence, the name Contradictory Dialogues.

Leave a Reply

