No pressure

IMG-20170601-WA0005
This is a “green” notebook that absorbs the crap out of any water to comes in contact with.

Now that I’ve familiarise myself with watercolouring, I understand now why artists love it so much. I used to hate the idea of letting go control and let the water does its work. I hated that I needed watercolour paper to paint on and to consider how much paint you pick up and how much water the brush can hold. Unlike colouring pencils or crayons, if you want it lighter, loosen your grip. If you want a darker shade, just press harder. In watercoloring though, all you’re gonna create are thin and thick strokes and possibly even fraying the hairs of your brush.

I started doing calligraphy using copperplate nibs and I think that really became a challenge for me when I used the same technique for brush lettering. Because copperplate nibs are solid, you’d need to press harder for thicker strokes and literally no effort besides holding the pen for thin strokes. I tried brush lettering and I loathed it, saying that I’ll never use it again.

But seeing instagram and pinterests with all kinds of art mostly done using brush lettering, I knew I had to give it another chance.

I’m glad I did. Otherwise I wouldn’t have understood that giving up control doesn’t always mean chaos; it reveals another side of it.

7 thoughts on “No pressure

    1. What I learned is that the base of any project is the most important. In this case it’s the paper. Watercoloring is already a challenge. Why give myself more trouble right? The expensive brushes and paint can come later 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahaha yeah they do. That’s why I’m using regular drawing/sketch papers in the meantime since I’m still learning this trade. It works too even though it’s a little absorbent

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment