So many hobbies, so little time

My mind have been so full of ideas lately. I don’t know if it’s a good thing. Recently, I met one of Tim’s colleague, Rozy and she’s crazy about cross stitching! Check out here instagram here and tell me you think her work is amazing too?!?!?! She’s currently trying to design her own patterns. I truly have no idea how does she have so much time to stitch, not one but MANY designs. My love for cross stitching rekindled when I saw her pictures. I used to be crazy about it too until I didn’t have time to do it anymore and grew another interest. You can see my stitches herehere and here.

And if you read my previous posts, I’ve been investing my time on watercolour painting lately. I used to hate it because I wasn’t very good at it. But now I’m seeing improvements so I’m enjoying it a little bit more.

I joined a copperplate calligraphy class 6 months ago from Salt x Paper and it is the most mind-blowing and liberating type of art. It was a live in the past while in the future kind of art.

Naturally, brush lettering came next after tasting the delicate art of cursive writing. This one took me a while to understand and practice because the soft tip was all too foreign to me especially for writing.

Bullet journaling is next on my things-to-do list too but I figured that I would have nothing to write or plan because honestly, my day job plus my daily life is a routine. There’s nothing to be reminded of, no appointments that need me present, no notes to copy. I have a book where I used to bujo but the only table or entry I drew each month was the habit tracker and my mood tracker. It was a huge waste to stop using that book because there were so many pages. So now I use it as a medium for my brain dump or quotes I like from a book/magazine, random doodles, notes or lists. It works for me because I’m not obliged to fill in my schedule everyday unlike the fixed calendar layout that draws out the entire day of the month. One of my pet peeve is leaving an area of a page that is supposed to be filled or blank pages.

And I love writing too! That’s why this blog exists. Of course I can just write an entry in my physical diary or type it into a Word document. But writing and uploading it into the web is great for edifying purposes and sharing of knowledge and interests and I enjoy that.

I love being active and being outdoors from time to time. And sometimes just staying home accompanied by a good book (So many books have been neglected). The problem is, I have 6 types of other hobbies listed above. How much time do I have left for other activities? I want to do them all!

When I’m working, I wished I had time for my hobbies. But when I’m free, I do nothing but scroll through instagram and pinterest or watch TV series I downloaded.

Which makes me wonder if my hobbies were my job, would I yearn for something else?

Do any of you experience this? Please advise me what I should do!

Published by

jemehh

I write about things I feel and think. But sometimes these two gets into a fight. Hence, the name Contradictory Dialogues.

One thought on “So many hobbies, so little time”

Leave a Reply

