Zero Waste Journey: Skincare [Innisfree]

Been wanting to write this post for a while now but due to the lockdown, I couldn’t visit Innisfree to buy all this. Now I have, so it’s time to share with you guys why this is a zero waste skincare!

It’s simple:

Just RETURN the empty bottles to any Innisfree store in EXCHANGE for POINTS!

Being an Innisfree member offers consumers to collect points not only from products bought, but also empty bottles returned. Other than their paper box packaging, the consumers are not responsible for the disposal of waste.

So each FULL SIZE* bottle returned rewards you with 100 points. Refer to their website here.
* Does not apply to sample bottles

1 bottle = 100 points
50 points = RM1

Despite the amazing recycling programme they have, I do think their products are priced a little on the high side. If they could increase the bottle size and volume, or price it a little lower, it would have been worth every buck. I mean, RM50 for a bottle of 330ml body wash from Innisfree would have given me 3 bottles 750ml worth of Johnsons&Johnsons body wash. The comparison truly pales between the two.

Another thing is that, I’m constantly paying for the packaging costs each time but only compensated for RM2 for it (100 points = RM2). Of course, I can’t just conclude that they’re pricing it high to reach a fixed percentage of profit for each product sold. The cost may include:-

  • Production costs
  • Freights costs
  • Recycling costs
  • Profit

So if putting monetary issues aside, Innisfree is still considered a good alternative to other brands because the biggest advantage of this is that consumers are not the ones responsible to recycle Innisfree’s goods.

I’ve been using HadaLabo’s water gel moisturiser and already have 2 empties. Sure, you’d say that I can reuse them for another purpose. But how many empties do you think I’d have if I continued to use this product for 3 more years? How many more reusable ways can I adopt? And let’s not forget, this is container is not the ONLY empties I have at home. It could be medicine bottles, supplements, other skincare products, etc.

TL:DR
#1 Innisfree is a great alternative for zero waste skincare.
#2 Their product volume/quality does not justify their pricing.
#3 If only sample bottles can be exchanged for points using a 5:1 rule.

Be back soon to update my zero waste journey!

J.

Leave a comment